Feeling Loved

Yes, that’s right, today is Valentine’s Day, the day that so many people dread.

But today has been a great day for me, and I don’t mean to rub that in. Even though I only slept 3 hours last night, this morning was wonderful.

My daughter was so happy when she woke up to see a brand new pink bike with a bell that my parents bought her and to see her bright red tulips her dad bought her sitting in a vase. She was all smiles opening gifts throughout the morning, repeatedly showing my mom her new bows, shaking a box of new snacks, flipping through her new books, and hugging her stuffed animals.

We explained to her the reason she was receiving these gifts was because she is loved and Valentine’s Day is a day where we express those feelings, sometimes through gifts.

I heard something this afternoon that reminded me  that so many people aren’t looking forward to this holiday, and I wondered if  my own or anyone else’s appreciation of today has upset anyone. I’ve never had an issue with the holiday, even before my daughter, and even before Sunny. My parents and siblings are usually good about reasons to celebrate, so most times, we would all exchange little gifts. We aren’t expressive people, so it’s something to actually look forward.

Now that i’m a little older I see how some realities are quite unimaginable. It’s uneasy to see how many people feel neglected today, and how alone so many feel through other holidays. I can’t put myself into your position and tell you how to get out of it because I’ve never been in many bad situations. But… I can tell you this, you are not alone. I need to say this, because someone needs to hear it. God is with you, you are never alone. He hasn’t left your side, you aren’t neglected. He is constantly working in our lives to get us through our hard times. You are loved. Never feel that you are unloved.

You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your HEART. (Jeremiah 29:13)

You are loved by God, and in return, you have to love. Love God, love yourself, love everything and everyone in your life. Celebrate today and everyday because of all the gifts God has given us. I need to remember this, because somedays I have a long list of things I want to be unhappy about, but I have no real reason to be. I am loved, and I am going to try my best in return to love more than I ever have.

  Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God, and whoever loves has been born of God and knows God.  Anyone who does not love does not know God, because God is love. (1 John 4:7-8)

Leave a Reply

