Red Red Wine

What do you think about the burgundy, wine, maroon colored lipsticks, glosses and stains that have been extremely trendy for possibly the last three years?

I have tested out 5 different shades and different brands. Though I love the images that keep surfacing on my Pinterest, for myself, wearing them casually is a different story.

  • “Kat Von D everlasting liquid lipstick in Damned”
    Ok so in buying this, I knew it was way too dark for my liking. I had the dilemma of choosing from the colors that were left at Sephora, and usually with this brand, it’s not much. Ordering online is your safest bet, because they do not stay on the shelf for long. This is a matte black cherry.
img_8077

Kat Von D everlasting liquid in Damned $20

  • “NYX matte in Transylvania”
    Again, this was extremely dark. I didn’t like the berry tones it was giving off. It seemed like a knock off, and I usually like this brand for a drug store brand.
img_8076

NYX matte in Transylvania $5.99

 

  • “MAC lipstick in Rebel”
    Now this is extremely leaning toward the berry/purple family. It kind of reminds me of a grape juice stain. It glides on super easily. Ok, if you aren’t familiar with MAC lipsticks, they’re going to come in different styles. Some are matted, some are shiny, and some are in between like this one, “satin”. The assistants at the counters are more than happy to answer any questions and give tips. Keep in mind these ladies work either by sales or commission. If one has been assisting you, that’s who you need to make your purchase with. Back to “Rebel”, I wore this at a phase in my life where I was very brave with my lipstick, and even then I was uneasy wearing it. I can handle purple lipsticks but this was intense.
img_8079

MAC satin lipstick in Rebel $17

  • “NYX liquid suede in Vintage”
    I actually kind of almost really liked this one. Lol that sounds so hesitant, but this is a big deal for those of us that wear lip color, and obviously for those of us that are intimidated by wearing colored lips. It changes your entire vibe. It’s a muted burgundy with hints of brown and is everything that the name says it is. I’m gonna say it, I like this one. For a rainy day, I like this one.
img_8071

I’m wearing NYX liquid suede in Vintage $6.99

  • “Kat Von D everlasting liquid lipstick in Vampira”
    I was so excited to find this in stores. I’ve taken many Sephora trips and come back empty handed because of my disappointment of this one always being out of stock. I tried it, and… It wasn’t dark enough. Go figure. Its a deep red, but It wasn’t bold enough. It was just a matte 90’s red. I added more, and more, and then more until it smudged on my hands and cheeks and it was a disaster. I couldn’t get it off. Its “everlasting”, after all. I’ll probably have to try this one again.
img_8078

Kat Von D everlasting lipstick in Vampira $20

These are all good quality lip colors and brands, and they are all long lasting. You just need to try out what color fits your skin tone and wear what you feel comfortable in. You’re going to be acknowledged when wearing a color so bold as these, whether it be positive or negative. But If you think you look good, then you more than likely do!

Also, a little extra advice if you’re deciding to experiment with these type of colors, you need to use a lip liner. With all of these colors, I used MAC lip pencil in Mahogany. No need to splurge on a liner though, i’m sure NYX has one that works just as well, but make sure it’s not too creamy because it will more than likely smudge, and a color like this is hard to conceal.

I have a few more that i’m planning to try soon, and one is EXCORCISM by Kat Von D; the others are MAC’s diva, sin, and paramount. I’ll keep y’all updated on that. Any suggestions on some that have worked for you?

Leave a Reply

